About Government Information & Services Gateway
    Local History
    The Capital
    The Government
        The President
        The Prime Minister
    Timorese Culture
    Travel Guide

Politics: Unicameral Parliamentry System

Head of state of the East Timorese republic is the president, who is elected by popular vote for a five-year term and whose role is largely symbolic, though he is able to veto some legislation. Following legislative elections, the president appoints as prime minister the leader of the majority party or majority coalition. As head of government the prime minister presides over the Council of State or cabinet.

The unicameral Timorese parliament is the National Parliament or Parlamento Nacional, whose members are also elected by popular vote to a five-year term. The number of seats can vary from a minimum of 52 to a maximum of 65, though it exceptionally has The National Parliament
88 members at present, due to this being its first term of office. The Timorese constitution was modelled on that of Portugal. The country is still in the process of building its administration and governmental institutions.

The National Parliament

The National Parliament consists of 88 members who were elected on 30 August 2001 to the Constituent Assembly. The Constituent Assembly’s directive was to develop a Constitution for East Timor. With the approval of the Constitution, the Constituent Assembly has been transformed into a National Parliament for up to five years. The National Parliament will be responsible for making laws on issues concerning the country’s domestic and foreign policy, as well as other functions set out in the Constitution. Specific objectives of the National Parliament are as follows:

  • Pass relevant, well drafted legislation in a timely manner;
  • Establish a multiparty system and democratic rules through a productive dialogue;
  • Provide a counterbalance to the powers of the Presidency and of the Government; and
  • Establish and maintain proper, efficient and effective communication between the various branches of the Government in order to ensure respect for the Constitution and constitutionally enacted laws, transparency within the public administration, and the independence and impartiality of the judiciary.

The Parliament function is supported by the Secretariat that it may provides right services to the Members. The services of the Secretariat include the list of the deliberations of the Parliament and the administration on the legislative agenda.

Flag of Government of The Republic of Democratic Timor-Leste

Government of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

Timor-Leste Xanana Gusmao About Timor-Leste.gov.tl Site Map Help on Timor-Leste.gov.tl Contact us Portuguese Version Tetun Version